• 31/03/2019

مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل يدعم 3 نماذج مبتكرة ضمن تحدي استيطان الفضاء

أعلن مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل، إحدى مبادرات مؤسسة دبي للمستقبل، عن اكتمال إعداد 35 بحثاً علمياً ضمن ” تحدي محمد بن راشد لاستيطان الفضاء” الأول من نوعه على مستوى العالم والذي ينظم بالتعاون مع منصة “جوانا” المبتكرة لتمويل البحث العلمي.

وتم اختيار هذه المشاريع بناء على عملية تقييم أجراها المشاركون في المبادرة البالغ عددهم 275 خبيراً من أبرز الجامعات والمراكز البحثية العالمية في مختلف دول العالم بما في ذلك الولايات المتحدة الأمريكية والمملكة المتحدة وسويسرا وسنغافورة واليابان وأستراليا وكندا وفرنسا وألمانيا والمغرب والإمارات العربية المتحدة وغيرها.

وأكد عبد العزيز الجزيري نائب الرئيس التنفيذي لمؤسسة دبي للمستقبل على أهمية مشاركة وتعميم المعرفة العلمية في تعزيز جهود صناعة المستقبل، وأولوية تطوير بيئة البحث العلمي بما يسهم في تعزيز التجارب وتصميم الحلول الاستباقية للتحديات.

وقال الجزيري إن نشر الدراسات العلمية يعكس توجهات مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل في دعم البحث العلمي في مختلف القطاعات المستقبلية وفي المجالات المرتبطة باستيطان الفضاء التي من شأنها تحسين وتطوير الحياة على كوكب الأرض كذلك، ويؤكد حرص مؤسسة دبي للمستقبل على تعزيز التعاون والشراكة مع الجهات والمراكز البحثية حول العالم لخلق أفكار وابتكارات جديدة تسهم بإحداث تغيير ملموس ودعم مسيرة صناعة المستقبل.

النباتات الإلكترونية الخارقة
وتشمل هذه التقارير دراسة علمية ترتكز على هندسة التكنلوجيا الحيوية للنباتات الإلكترونية الخارقة، أعدها العالمان تارا كريمي وموجي كريمي من شركة “سيمفيتا فاكتوري” المتخصصة في تطوير الحلول المبتكرة في قطاعات الكيمياء والبيولوجيا وتطبيقاتهما المتنوعة في الفضاء والأرض، بهدف تصميم نماذج تكنولوجية تعتمد على عملية التمثيل الضوئي التي تحول النباتات من خلالها غاز ثاني أكسيد الكربون والماء إلى أوكسجين وجلوكوز.

ويمثل تطوير مثل هذا النموذج عنصراً داعماً لتطوير قطاع الفضاء، ويمكنه من الاستفادة من ما معدله كيلوغرام واحد من ثاني أكسيد الكربون يستنشقه رائد الفضاء يومياً، من خلال جمعه ومعالجته وإعادة تدويره إلى مكونات مفيدة خلال السفر إلى الفضاء، إضافة إلى أن هذه التكنولوجيا قد تسهل عملية إنتاج الأوكسجين في المستوطنات الفضائية في المستقبل من الهواء المحيط بها، بالنظر إلى أن ثاني أكسيد الكربون يشكل 95٪ من الغلاف الجوي لكوكب المريخ، كما يمكن توظيف هذه التكنولوجيا على كوكب الأرض في الحد من الانبعاثات الكربونية ومعالجة ظاهرة التغير المناخي.

كما يمكن لهذه التكنولوجيا الجديدة تخفيض تكلفة عمليات جمع ثاني أكسيد الكربون وتخزينه في باطن الأرض إلى 30 دولاراً فقط للطن الواحد من الكربون، مقابل 100 دولار لكل طن تكلفة التكنولوجيا المستخدمة حالياً، إضافة إلى أن إعادة تدوير ثاني أكسيد الكربون إلى مواد مفيدة.

وأكد العالمان تارا كريمي وموجي كريمي أن تمويل مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل لهذا البحث ساعدهما على ابتكار نموذج أولي لتكنولوجيا تحويل غاز الكربون بالاعتماد على مفهوم التمثيل الضوئي الذي يسهم بتطوير طريقة مستدامة لإنتاج المواد الكيميائية والبوليمرات التي تستخدم ثاني أكسد الكربون كمادة وسيطة ما يوفر فوائد عديدة للمجتمع والاقتصاد والبيئة.

توليد المياه على المريخ
كما تشمل قائمة المشاريع التي يدعمها مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل أيضاً دراسة عمل عليها الدكتور خافيير مارتن توريس من جامعة لوليا للتكنولوجيا في السويد لاستخلاص المياه من الأبخرة في سطح المريخ باستخدام الأملاح التي تمتص الرطوبة من الهواء عند مستويات معينة من الحرارة وتحولها إلى مياه يمكن استخدامها في الفضاء.

وأكد توريس أن تكنولوجيا (BOTTLE Water Farming) تدعم جهود استكشاف كوكب المريخ إضافة إلى إمكانية توظيفها في معالجة التحديات الاقتصادية والبيئية والاجتماعية على كوكب الأرض، مشيرا إلى أهمية تطبيق مشروع “مزارع المياه” على نطاق واسع لدعم المجتمعات في الأماكن ذات البيئة القاسية، وتوفير المياه للدول التي تعتمد على تحلية المياه.

وساهم دعم المركز بإنجاز هذا البحث وتطوير نماذج وظيفية عدة للمزارع المائية واختبارها في منجم بولبي بالمملكة المتحدة كونه بيئة قاسية مماثلة لكوكب المريخ.

البناء على المريخ باعتماد حجارة البناء المتشابكة
وساعد البحث الثالث الذي تم تمويله من قبل مركز محمد بن راشد لأـبحاث الفضاء مجموعة من العلماء في جامعة أريزونا لتطوير تكنولوجيا روبوتية جديدة تستخدم الطاقة الشمسية الحرارية لإنتاج مواد البناء المتشابكة، ويجري العمل حالياً على إنهاء إجراءات تسجيل براءة اختراع النموذج الذي يجمع بين قدرات الروبوتات وتكنولوجيا الطباعة ثلاثية.

ويمثل هذا النموذج قفزة في عالم الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد، إذ إن حجم الروبوت لا يحد من حجم الهياكل التي يمكنه بناؤها، الأمر الذي يعتبر عادة من أكبر التحديات التي واجهت التطبيقات العملية لتقنية الطباعة ثلاثية الأبعاد. وإضافة إلى ذلك، ستسهم هذه التكنولوجيا بالتقليل من تكلفة البناء بمقدار 3 أضعاف، والحد من المخاطر على الصحة والسلامة التي ينطوي عليها مجال البناء في البيئات القاسية.

وأكد العالم جيكان ثانغا أنه رغم تطوير هذه التكنولوجيا من أجل بناء المستوطنات الفضائية، إلا أنها ستسهم أيضاً بتطوير قطاع البناء على كوكب الأرض. حيث يمكن استخدام هذه الروبوتات لحفر القنوات واستصلاح الأراضي وغيرها من المجالات الأخرى.

تحدي محمد بن راشد لاستيطان الفضاء
وكان مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل التابع لمؤسسة دبي للمستقبل، أعلن في يونيو 2018 عن اختيار 53 بحثاً علمياً لتمويلها من خلال “تحدي محمد بن راشد لاستيطان الفضاء” الذي يهدف إلى توفير منصة لدعم الأبحاث المتخصصة، بما يعزز ويسرع توليد أفكار وابتكار حلول تدعم تأسيس مجتمعات متكاملة صالحة لحياة الإنسان في الفضاء.

شارك في التحدي الذي نظمه المركز بالتعاون مع “جوانا” فرق عمل في أكثر من 200 جامعة من 55 دولة، قدمت 275 مقترحاً بحثياً، وقد حصل أصحاب الأبحاث الـ 35 التي تم اختيارها على تمويل يصل إلى 50,000 درهم اماراتي للعمل في تنفيذ أبحاثهم.

منصة معرفية
ويمثل مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل منصة معرفية وبحثية تقدم للمعنيين بعلوم المستقبل من الجهات الحكومية والخاصة تقديم سلسلة متكاملة من الخدمات الاستشارية والتقارير المتخصصة حول الاتجاهات المستقبلية في التكنولوجيا والعلوم والجغرافيا السياسية والمجتمع.

وجرى إطلاق تحدي محمد بن راشد لاستيطان الفضاء خلال منتدى استيطان الفضاء ضمن أعمال القمة العالمية للحكومات 2018، ويجسد التحدي حرص مركز محمد بن راشد لأبحاث المستقبل على دعم الأبحاث العلمية وتوظيف التكنولوجيا المتطورة خدمة لتوجهات دولة الإمارات ودعماً لمشاريعها المستقبلية الطموحة الهادفة في مجال استكشاف الفضاء الخارجي، بما فيها “مشروع المريخ 2117″، ومشروع “مدينة المريخ العلمية”، إضافة إلى “مئوية الإمارات 2071”.

• Sunday March 31st, 2019

Mohammed Bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research supports three Promising Prototypes through space settlement challenge

Dubai: The Mohammed bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research (MBR CAR), an initiative by Dubai Future Foundation, has completed 35 scientific studies as part of the Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Settlement Challenge, in collaboration with Guaana, a new scientific research funding platform.

Abdulaziz AlJaziri Deputy CEO of Dubai Future Foundation, stressed the importance of supporting and sharing scientific knowledge in order to develop new industries and develop proactive solutions for the challenges we will face in the future.

“These scientific studies reflect the efforts of Mohammed bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research to support scientific research related to space settlement – technology that will improve life on Earth as well. This is in line with Dubai Future Foundation’s keenness to cooperate and partner with research institutions around the world to create new ideas and innovations for a better future”, he added.

Through a rigorous evaluation process, the studies were selected by peer review among the cohort of 275 expert scientists that applied for the funding. They came from various disciplines and leading universities and research centres in the USA, UK, Switzerland, Singapore, Japan, Australia, Canada, France, Germany, Morocco, UAE and others.

Three prototypes developed in these studies already show promising results.

Bionic Plants

In this study Dr. Tara Karimi and Moji Karimi of Cemvita Factory trialed a technology that replicates photosynthesis: the process by which plants take in carbon dioxide and water and turn it into oxygen and glucose.

Astronauts typically breathe out 1 kilogram of carbon dioxide every day, which could be collected, processed and recycled into compounds that are useful in space travel. Given that carbon dioxide also makes up 95% of the Martian atmosphere, this method suggests that space settlements in the future could create their own oxygen, glucose and other compounds from just the air around them. This technology might be even more critical for challenges on earth, such as reducing carbon emissions to tackle climate change.

Many countries incentivise companies to reduce their carbon emissions by offering tax credits. Companies are therefore increasingly using carbon capture technology, removing carbon dioxide from the air and storing it underground. These technologies currently cost US$100 per tonne of carbon. By using the prototype technology, which allows companies to capture their exhaust gases directly, the cost falls to $30.

The scientists confirmed that the funding for this research helped the developed prototype to not only reduce the cost of carbon capture, but also helps recycle the carbon dioxide into other useful materials.

Farming Water on Mars

In one of the studies supported by the Mohammed bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research, Dr. Javier Martin Torres of Lulea University of Technology in Sweden extracted water from water vapour using salts found on Mars that absorb moisture from the air at specific temperature and humidity levels and convert it into usable water, known as BOTTLE Water Farming.

Not only will this technology have “great impact for Mars exploration and the UAE’s strategic space exploration goals”, but it will also be critical in addressing economic, environmental and social, challenges on Earth – says Dr Javier Martin-Torres Principal Investigator of BOTTLE at Luleå University of Technology Sweden.

Also according to Dr Javier, the grant enabled the development of “several functional prototypes of water farms” which were tested in the Boulby Mine (UK), as an extreme environment comparable to Mars.

Cooperative 3D Printing

The third promising study funded by the Mohammed Bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research enabled scientists at the University of Arizona to develop robotic technology that uses solar-thermal energy to produce interlocking pieces for construction. The ‘Cooperative 3D Printing Robot’ prototype, which combines the capabilities of robotics and 3D printing technology, is in the process of being patented.

This prototype is a breakthrough for 3D printing technology, as the modular structure means the size of the printer does not limit the size of the structures it can build. This has typically been one of the biggest challenges faced in the practical applications of 3D printing technology. This technology therefore would reduce the cost of construction by human labor by 3-fold and reduce the health and safety risks involved with construction in extreme environments.

Leading this project, Jekan Thanga stressed that although the initial proof of concept was developed for the construction of space settlements, this technology has extensive implications for existing construction limitations on Earth. These robots can be used to dig channels, tend to soil and plants on a large scale, as well as many other uses.

The Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Challenge

The Mohammed Bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated announced in June 2018 that 35 research studies had been selected for funding through the Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Challenge, which aims to provide a platform to support specialized research, promoting and accelerating the generation of ideas and solutions that support the establishment integrated societies fit for human life in space.

The challenge, in collaboration with Guaana, received 275 research proposals were submitted from over 200 universities across 55 countries around the world. The 35 selected research received up to 50,000 AED funding each to deliver their study.

Knowledge Platform

The Mohammed bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research is a knowledge and research platform that provides science and government stakeholders with an integrated series of advisory services and specialized reports on future trends in technology, science, geopolitics and society.

The Mohammed Bin Rashid Space Challenge was launched during the Space Settlement Forum as part of the World Government Summit in 2018. The challenge reflects the keenness of the Mohammed bin Rashid Centre for Accelerated Research to support scientific research and the use of state-of-the-art technology to serve the UAE’s direction and support its ambitious future projects in space exploration including: Mars 2117 Program, UAE Mars City and the UAE’s 2071 Centennial Plan.